All eyes were on Kenya as the East African nation hosted the final leg of the inaugural World Athletics Continental Tour Meeting at the newly refurbished Nyayo National Stadium on Saturday.

Being the first major sporting event in Africa since the outbreak of Covid-19, the organisers left nothing to chance to ensure the historic Kip Keino Classic left a legacy for Kenyans.

The mouth-watering event tested Kenya’s readiness for sports amid the coronavirus pandemic.

The Standard Sport followed the showpiece and below is how the events unfolded.

NOTE… the first event of the day (Saturday 3/10/2020) is at the bottom of this story.

Final race of the day:  

Kip Keino Classic: 3000m Women’s Steeplechase

1. Beatrice Chepkoech – 9:29.05

2. Jepkemoi Hyvin Kiyeng – 9:34.07

3. Roseline Chepng’etich – 9:46.14

2020 Kip Keino Classic full results: Kenya’s Hellen Obiri, Beatrice Chepkoech make history at Nyayo Stadium : The standard Sports
The 3000m Women’s Steeplechase queens in action on Saturday. [Photo: Kip Keino Classic]
3000m Women’s Steeplechase results. [Photo: Robin Toskin]


Kip Keino Classic: Men’s 800m

Kenya’s Ferguson Rotich won comfortably ahead of Australia’s Deng.

1. Ferguson Rotich 1:44.78 (Kenya)

2. Joseph Deng 1:45.21 (Australia)

3. Wycliffe Kinyamal 1:45.52 (Kenya)


Kip Keino Classic: Women’s 5000m

Kenya’s Hellen Onsando Obiri won the 5000m in 15:06.37 as counterparts Agnes Tirop and Margaret Kipkemboi came second and third respectively.

Hellen Obiri 15:06.36 (Gold)

Agnes Tirop 15:06.71 (Silver)

Margaret Kipkemboi 15:11.11 (Bronze)

Hellen Obiri in second position during the 5000m race at Nyayo. [Photo: Kip Keino Classic]

Kip Keino Classic: Men’s 1500m

Kenya’s Timothy Cheruiyot won it easily clocking 3:34.32.

Kenyans won the Gold, Silver and Bronze medals in this one.

1. Timo Cheruiyot 3:34.31

2. Kumari Taki 3:35.00

3. Abel Kipsang 3:35.43

Timothy Cheruiyot during a morning training session at GEMS Cambridge International School on September 29, 2020. [Stafford Ondego, Standard]

Kip Keino Classic: Women’s 200m

British sprinter Kristal Awuah won the women’s 200m race at the Nyayo Stadium in 23.04.

1. Kristal Awuah  23.05 (United Kingdom)

2. Bassant Hermida Flag of 23:13 (Egypt)

3. Njobvu RodahFlag of 23:18 (Zambia)

Kristal Awuah [Stafford Ondego, Standard]

Kip Keino Classic: Men’s 400m hurdles

1. William Mbevi – 51:27 (Kenya)

2. Nicholas Chirchir -51.48 (Kenya)

3. Edward Ngunjiri -51.91 (Kenya)

4. Aaron Koech -51.96 (Kenya)

William Mbevi [Photo: Kip Keino Classic]

Kip Keino Classic: Men’s 3000m steeplechase

1. Abraham Kibiwott 8:17.62 (Kenya)

2. Leonard Bett 8:17.63 (Kenya)

Kenya’s Abraham Kibiwott (left) and Kenya’s Conseslus Kipruto in a past race. [AFP PHOTO / SAEED KHAN]

Kip Keino Classic: Women’s 800m Final

1. Nelly Jepkosgei 2:02.07 (Kenya)

2. Eunice Sum 2:03.73 (Kenya)

3. Eglay Nalyanya 2:04.98 (Kenya)

4. Winnie Nanyondo 2:05.74 (Uganda)

Kenya’s Eunice Jepkoech Sum. [AFP PHOTO / ANDREJ ISAKOVIC]

Kip Keino Classic: Men’s 400m

Kenya’s Jared Momanyi took Gold in 46.12 as Emmanuel Ojeli from Nigeria won Silver.

[Photo: Robin Toskin]

Kip Keino Classic: Women’s 400m

17-year-old Beatrice Masilingi from Namibia won in 50.99 while Kenya’s Mary Moraa settled for second place in 51.99.

1. Masilingi Beatrice 50.99 Namibia

2. Mary Moraa 51.99 (Kenya)

3. Shida Leni 52.77 (Uganda)

Kenya’s Mary Moraa. [Standard]

Kip Keino Classic: Men’s 5000m

Kenya’s Nicholas Kimeli fought off pressure to emerge victorious in the men’s 5000m race with a time of 13:07.41.

Ethiopia’s Argawi came in second at 13:08.91 as Kenya’s Jacob Krop was forced to settle for Bronze in 13:11.88.

Nicholas Kimeli in the frontline at Nyayo. [Photo: Kip Keino Classic]

Kip Keino Classic: 1500m Women

Ethiopia’s Hailu Lemlem won the 1500m women’s race in 4:06.43.

[Photo: Robin Toskin]

Kip Keino Classic: Kenyan javelin thrower  Alex Kiprotich? won the Gold medal

Kenyan javelin thrower Alex Kiprotich threw an amazing 76.71m at the inaugural Kip Keino Classic event in Nairobi.

The throw gave Alex nearly one-metre win over polish Chmielak Hubert who threw 75.47m.

Hermann Timothy of Belgium finished third with 75.18m.

Men’s Javelin Throw results:

Alex Kiprotich 76.71m (Kenya)

Chmielak Hubert 75.47m (Poland)

Herman Timothy 75.18m (Belgium)

Kip Keino Classic: Kenya’s Kipngetich took Gold in men’s 10,000m

Kipngetich Tanui of Kenya produced a stunning performance to win the inaugural Kip Keino Classic 10,000m title at Nyayo stadium in Nairobi.

With 500m remaining, Kipngetich powered home to win the race in a time of 28:06.09.

Nathan Lagat, who tried to exhaust Kipngetich with three and a half laps remaining, won the silver in 28:22.28.

Yosei Mneria of Kenya came in third in 28:26.22.

[Photo: Twitter]

2020 Kip Keino Classic: Vanice Kerubo wins the 400 metres women’s hurdles

Women’s 400m hurdles

Vanice Kerubo 1:02.29

Caroline Waiganjo 1:04.82

Elizabeth Kimuyu -1:06.09

Kerubo sprinting to the 400m hurdles victory. [Photo: Kip Keino Classic]

Kenya’s Vanice Kerubo on Saturday afternoon powered to victory in the 400 metres women’s hurdles at the Kip Keino Classic.

Vanice took gold with a time of 1.02.29 at Nyayo stadium ahead of Caroline Waiganjo who took silver with a time of 1.04.82 while the bronze medal went to Elizabeth Kimuyu in a time of 1.06.09

Samuel Ireri Gathimba (269) wins men’s 20km-walk race. [Photo: Stafford Ondego]

Samuel Ireri Gathimba on Saturday morning surprised the world to win the Kip Keino classic 20km walk race.

Gathimba won the race in 1.22.56 ahead of Simon Wachira and Erick Shikuku who came out second and third respectively.

Grace Wanjiru  Njue also dominated the women’s 20km walk race, finishing in 1:46:40 ahead of Silvia Kemboi and Naomi Chepkirui respectively.

Grace Wanjiru Njue (263) won the women’s 20km-walk race. [Photo: Stafford Ondego]

Below are the top finishers for the Men’s and Women’s race.

Leading 20km walk men Results:

1. Samuel Gathimba PRISONS  1.22.56

2. Simon Wachira KDF 1:28.14 1

3. Erick Shikuku 1:30.20

Leading 20km walk women Results:

1. Grace Wanjiru Njue KDF 1:46:40

2. Silvia Kemboi KDF 1:48.25

3. Naomi Chepkirui  KDF 1:54.24