Your up-to-date guide to border restrictions across the country.

With the COVID-19 situation changing daily, Australia’s states and territories have been quick to update their border restrictions to match.

In the last few weeks, discussions around border openings have been increasing with more destinations looking to ease restrictions.

Here are the latest details on where you can and can’t travel around Australia right now:


The Queensland border is currently closed to COVID-19 hotspots, which currently includes all parts of New South Wales and Victoria.

On 25 September 2020, the ACT was removed from the hotspot list, meaning people can travel by air from ACT to Queensland, as long as they have not been in a COVID-19 hotspot in the 14 days prior to their arrival.

New South Wales border zone residents can also now cross the border for any purpose.

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has confirmed the Queensland border will reopen to all of New South Wales from 1 November 2020, as long as there is no unlinked community transmission in NSW for 28 days.

All other Australian states or territories are allowed to travel to Queensland.

All the latest information is available here.


The Tasmanian Government has announced it will look to easing border restrictions with low risk Australian jurisdictions from October 26.

At this stage, low risk states include South Australia, Western Australia, the Northern Territory, Queensland, the ACT and possibly NSW.

Current restrictions and requirements remain in place until that time.

More information can be found on Tasmania’s border closures and openings here.

New South Wales

NSW has temporarily imposed border restrictions with Victoria, meaning anyone who has been in Victoria in the last 14 days can not enter the state.

On 17 September an update was made to allow NSW-Victoria border region residents to travel within the NSW border region for any reason with a current permit.

Other states or territories are permitted to enter NSW, however the government urges all travellers to “comply with any border rules of the state or territory you are entering or leaving”.

The latest information is available here.


The ACT Government is urging anyone from COVID-affected areas to reconsider their travel to the ACT and urging ACT residents to reconsider the need for any unnecessary travel to COVID-affected areas.

Travel between ACT and Victoria is currently restricted, while visitors from all other states and territories are allowed to enter.

The latest travel advice is available here.


While Victoria doesn’t have any border restrictions, other states and territories won’t allow you to enter if you have been in Victoria in the past 14 days.

More information on Victoria’s border closures available here.

Western Australia

Western Australia’s border remains closed to all other states and territories. Exempt travellers wanting to enter the state must apply for an exemption and must complete 14 full days of quarantine at their own expense.

Victorian travellers with an exemption to enter WA were previously required to quarantine in a hotel, however from 5 October they are now allowed to self-isolate at home.

WA Premier Mark McGowan said the state’s hard border will remain in place until community transmission is under control across the country.

“There is no need to unnecessarily rush and make decisions that put our state at risk,” he said.

Stay up to date here.

Northern Territory

The Northern Territory borders are closed to COVID-19 hotspots Victoria and Greater Sydney, but is open to other states and territories.

The NT Government has announced it will reopen the border to travellers from regional Victoria from 2 November if COVID-19 cases remain low.

The latest information can be found here.

South Australia

Travellers from New South Wales, ACT, Northern Territory, Queensland, Tasmania and Western Australia are currently allowed to enter South Australia directly without restriction.

Travellers from Victoria, other than essential travellers, are not permitted to travel to South Australia.

Stay up to date with South Australia’s border closures here.

More reading

State-by-state guide to current event restrictions
Business events are back on in New Zealand
Singapore to reopen border with Australia

Source Article