CONNECTICUT — Puerto Rico was added to Connecticut’s coronavirus travel advisory list Tuesday, while six states were dropped, bringing the total number of restricted areas to 30, according to the latest report from the state Department of Public Health.

Under the latest regulations released by Gov. Ned Lamont on Monday, travelers from those areas either have to self-quarantine for 14 days or have proof of a negative coronavirus test result within 72 hours of arriving in the state.

California, Hawaii, Maryland, Minnesota, Nevada and Ohio were taken off Connecticut’s coronavirus travel advisory list, as health officials determined that the infection rate in those states has fallen to acceptable levels.

States are put on the advisory list if they have a daily positive coronavirus test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a 10 percent or higher positive rate over a seven-day rolling average. Failure to complete a travel health form carries a civil penalty of $1,000 for each violation.

Travelers who are required to self-quarantine may do so at their home, a hotel or other temporary lodging. Connecticut, New York and New Jersey asked hotels to communicate the quarantine requirements to guests who have traveled from one of the affected states.

There are some exceptions to the rule. Workers traveling from affected states to Connecticut and vice versa who work in critical infrastructure as designated by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, including students in exempt health care professions, and any state, local and federal officials and employees, are exempt from the quarantine requirement when such travel is work-related. Such essential workers are required to complete the travel health form, however.

While there currently are no Connecticut-imposed restrictions on international travel, the federal government continues to provide international travel recommendations for anyone living inside the United States. For guidance on international travel, see the “COVID-19 Travel Recommendations” published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

See also: CT Coronavirus Updates: Fines For No Masks, Large Gatherings

As of Tuesday, the following 30 locations are included in Connecticut’s travel advisory:

  1. Alabama

  2. Alaska

  3. Arkansas

  4. Delaware

  5. Florida

  6. Georgia

  7. Guam

  8. Idaho

  9. Illinois

  10. Indiana

  11. Iowa

  12. Kansas

  13. Kentucky

  14. Louisiana

  15. Mississippi

  16. Missouri

  17. Montana

  18. Nebraska

  19. North Carolina

  20. North Dakota

  21. Oklahoma

  22. Puerto Rico

  23. South Carolina

  24. South Dakota

  25. Tennessee

  26. Texas

  27. Utah

  28. Virginia

  29. West Virginia

  30. Wisconsin

This article originally appeared on the Across Connecticut Patch

Source Article