New Jersey’s coronavirus quarantine states grew Tuesday, a week after a half-dozen states were dropped from the list of areas where people visiting the Garden State or returning home are asked to quarantine for 14 days.

a group of people standing in a subway station: There are 35 states and territories considered COVID-19 hotspots that New Jersey, New York and Connecticut have agreed to put on the travel advisory.

© Patti Sapone | NJ Advance Media/Patti Sapone | NJ Advance Media/
There are 35 states and territories considered COVID-19 hotspots that New Jersey, New York and Connecticut have agreed to put on the travel advisory.

There are currently 35 states and territories considered COVID-19 hotspots.

The quarantine is voluntary and there are exceptions for business travel and people just passing through, but “compliance is expected,” according to state officials. The list is part of a multi-state agreement with New York and Connecticut.

Here are the 21 states and territories not on the quarantine list:

American Samoa

California (removed on 9/15/20)



Hawaii (removed on 9/15/20)


Maryland (removed on 9/15/20)



New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico (removed on 8/1120)

New York

Northern Mariana Islands

Ohio (removed on 9/15/20)




Virgin Islands (removed on 9/8/20)

Washington (removed on 8/11/20)

Washington D.C. (removed on 8/4/20)

The quarantine applies to any state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

CORONAVIRUS RESOURCES: Live map tracker 5/8 Newsletter 5/8 Homepage

Here are the 35 states and territories on the quarantine list:

Alabama (added 6/24/20)

Alaska (re-added 9/1/20)

Arizona (re-added 9/22/20)

Arkansas (added 6/24/20)

Delaware (re-added 9/8/20)

Florida (added 6/24/20)

Georgia (added 6/30/20)

Guam (added 8/25/20)

Idaho (added 6/30/20)

Illinois (added 7/28/20)

Indiana (added 7/21/20)

Iowa (added 6/30/20)

Kansas (added 7/7/20)

Kentucky (added 7/28/20)

Louisiana (added 6/30/20)

Minnesota (re-added 9/22/20)

Mississippi (added 6/30/20)

Missouri (added 7/21/20)

Montana (re-added 9/1/20)

Nebraska (added 7/21/20)

Nevada (re-added 9/22/20)

North Carolina (added 6/24/20)

North Dakota (added 7/21/20)

Oklahoma (added 7/7/20)

Puerto Rico (re-added 9/15/20)

Rhode Island (re-added 9/22/20)

South Carolina (added 6/24/20)

South Dakota (added 8/11/20)

Tennessee (added 6/30/20)

Texas (added 6/24/20)

Utah (added 6/24/20)

Virginia (added 7/21/20)

West Virginia (added 9/8/20)

Wisconsin (added 7/14/20)

Wyoming (added 9/22/20)

People flying into New Jersey are asked to fill out an electronic survey with information about their hometown, where they traveled from, and their destination. The information is then sent to county health departments, who will call the traveler to request them to self-quarantine and explain where they can be tested for COVID-19.

Travelers can access the survey by texting “NJ Travel” to 898211, visiting, or scanning a QR code on posters at airports.

New Jersey, an early coronavirus hotspot, has reported 16,076 deaths attributed to the virus — 14,285 lab-confirmed and 1,791 considered probable — in the more than six months since the state announced its first case March 4.

The state of 9 million people has reported 200,580 COVID-19 cases out of more than 3.39 million tests administered since its first case.

As of early Tuesday afternoon, the U.S. has recorded 200,182 deaths related to the virus, by the most in the world, according to Johns Hopkins University. That’s out of more than 6.86 million cases, also the most in the world.

Our journalism needs your support. Please subscribe today to

Matt Arco may be reached at [email protected].


©2020 NJ Advance Media Group, Edison, N.J.

Visit NJ Advance Media Group, Edison, N.J. at

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

Continue Reading

Source Article