Travellers arriving to the UK from Denmark, Slovakia, Iceland, and Curacao will now have to quarantine, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has announced.

The four destinations have been removed from the UK government’s travel corridor list, which means that those arriving into the UK from these locations from 4am on Saturday will have to self-isolate for 14 days.

Meanwhile, no countries were added to the travel corridor list.

Mr Shapps declared the changes in a series of tweets on Thursday afternoon. He posted: “Data shows we need to remove Denmark, Slovakia, Iceland, and Curacao from the Travel Corridor list. If you arrive in the UK from these destinations after 4am this Saturday, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days.

“We will not be adding any destinations to the Travel Corridor list this week. Remember: You MUST complete a Passenger Locator Form by law if you enter the UK. This protects public health and ensures those who need to are complying with self-isolation rules.

He added: “Also please don’t forget that you MUST self-isolate (quarantine) when returning from a non-exempt country, or face fines which start at £1,000.”

The changes come after a consistent increase in Covid-19 cases per 100,000 of the population in Iceland, with data showing a 921 per cent increase in newly reported cases over the past week.

In Slovakia, there has been a consistent increase in the weekly case rate of Covid over the past four weeks, with a 115 per cent increase in weekly cases per 100,000 between September 2 to September 23.

And there’s also been a 508pc increase in newly reported cases per week in Denmark over the past four weeks, along with a 481pc increase in newly reported cases over seven days per 100,000 between September 2 to September 23 in Curaçao.

At the same time, the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) has also updated its travel advice to advise against all but essential travel to the four locations.

The announcement comes one week after travellers arriving to the UK from Slovenia and Guadeloupe – a French overseas region – were told to quarantine.

While Singapore and Thailand were two countries that were added to the travel corridor list – where no quarantine is necessary.

Paul Charles, chief executive of travel consultancy The PC Agency, said: “It’s sad to see the list of countries growing on the quarantine list in line with the resurgence of Covid-19 in several parts of the world.

“It now makes even more sense for traveller testing to be introduced as soon as possible, reducing quarantine times and enabling economies to get going again.

“A co-ordinated, global programme, combining testing with short quarantine periods if necessary, would help protect lives and livelihoods.”

Get breaking news first on the free Manchester Evening News app – download it here for your Apple or Android device. You can also get a round-up of the biggest stories sent direct to your inbox every day with the MEN email newsletter – subscribe here . And you can follow us on Facebook here .